The Star Wars saga has been rumored to be a nine episode story that George Lucas conceived in the mid-1970's. However, in a recent edition of the Star Wars Insider, George stated that the Star Wars saga really only consists of six episodes: Episode 1 through 6. George has rough story ideas for Episodes 7 through 9, but has no current plans to ever produce a "Sequel Trilogy."

Instead of sequels, George is going to spend the next seven years directing, producing and supervising the completion of the Prequel Trilogy. The next three Star Wars films are commonly referred to as prequels because the events depicted in Episodes 1, 2 and 3 occur prior to the adventures of Luke, Han and Leia in the original trilogy. Episode 1 is set 32 years prior to the first Star Wars movie (1977). The Prequel Trilogy is the story of young Anakin Skywalker and how he succumbed to the dark side of the Force, how he became the nefarious Lord Darth Vader and how he betrayed many of his former friends, allies and peers. The prequels will also chronicle the final days of the Old Republic and the Jedi Knights before the dark times ushered in by the rise of the evil Galactic Empire.

The following pages will hopefully answer many of the questions and curiosities about the Prequel Trilogy that you may have:

What are the possible titles for the Prequel Trilogy films?

What actors will be appearing in the prequels?

What are the theatrical release dates for the prequels?

What is the Official Time Line for the prequels?

What charaters from the original trilogy will be appearing in the prequels?

What are the possible plot lines to Episode 1?

What secrecy tactics did Lucasfilm utilize to eliminate "truthful" leaks from the set of the Episode 1 production?

What else can you tell me about the prequels (i.e., production budget, director, producer, screen writer, how much money will the prequels make at the box office, when will Episode 2 and 3 begin filming)?